A Much Nicer Place

I live in a village in England called Meriden. It’s the historic center of England but as some coastline has been lost, the actual center is in a field a few miles away. On a more serious note, one of England’s best organic butchers is just 5 minutes drive away. Phil made me some gluten free sausages and I’ve just taken a few out of the freezer for lunch. A kale salad on the side will go perfect.

One of my dogs suffers seizures and he’s on a Paleo diet too. Both dogs are, of course, and a special pet mince is provided by our butcher. I had a look at the protein content of the tins of dog meat from the supermarket and was shocked that it was only 9%. Embracing a Paleo diet has been made so easy as my husband has taken it onboard too. He’s lost weight and is far more productive. He’s turned out to be an amazing cook too. He’s even using neuro-plasticity to improve his rock climbing technique, using thought as well as muscle memory to achieve harder moves.

I’m of to another butcher to get some minced/ground beef for the pooches. I can’t drive to the organic butchers as I’m suffering the aftermath of a cold so, I’m mixing some of my Bone Broth in until I’m driving again. I’m crutching down into the village twice per week to build muscle strength plus a walk in the woods at weekends. It’s so nice to finally have some balance back again. Just a month ago, I would have to use a walker and it would not happen twice per week, if at all.

It’s now 12:46 and I’ve been down to the village, got cash, delivered items to the charity shop and had my blood pressure tested at the pharmacy. I got some dental floss too and popped next door for some minced beef. After a quick rest and a cup of tea, I’ll prepare those sausages for lunch. Oh and, I mopped the side door passage on my return too. I’m really loving this diet!

My blood pressure, when very relaxed or meditating, is normally 90/60. Low blood pressure is a gift of genetics passed on from my mother. I’m careful not to have the bath too hot or stand up too quickly from it. After walking down into Meriden center it was 117/78. I’m happy with that.

I write this blog for two main reasons. To share experiences with whomever is interested and as a sort of diary for myself. It saves me typing it out twice and keeps everything more real for me.

I had previously stated that I started the Wahls Protocol diet on August 13th. It wasn’t. It was the 22nd. I had more energy just 24 hours later. I was using 30ml of Sativex per week prior to the diet change. Within 2 weeks, my dose had dropped so significantly that the same amount would last a month. Now, I can make one 10ml bottle last the same time. That’s a 1/12 reduction in medication in about 10 weeks. It’s really quite amazing. I have far less pain, better balance, vastly better cognition and more energy. I’m calmer than I’ve ever been, like I’m permanently high. I’m a little high because of the Sativex but the world definitely feels a much nicer place.

Web addresses for Paleo Diets and the Wahls Protcol

Dr Terry Wahls (the Wahls Way)

Dr Terry Wahls TEDx talk which put me on the road to recovery.

The Paleo Mom for recipes and much more.

Leave a Reply

